• You are here:

A Probiotic with antimicrobial activity against C.difficile

An APC invention won the Teagasc Category Award  at the UCC Invention of the Year Awards (for 2016 inventions).

The invention was ‘Lactobacillus gasseri, a human gut isolate for the treatment of Clostridium difficile infections ‘.  The inventors were Debebe Alemayu, Mary Rea, Eileen Murphy, Colin Hill and Paul Ross. The patented technology has been licensed to an APC Industry Partner.

The  Bridge Network Invention of the Year Awards  celebrated the work of teams from UCC, CIT and Teagasc. The awards were selected by an independent panel of judges from business, academia and enterprise bodies. UCC hosted the awards sponsored by Purdy Lucey Intellectual Property.  Five awards given out in Life Sciences and ICT/Physical Sciences Categories.

Barry Skillington from Atlantia Food Clinical Trials  explained to the team the journey that Atlantia, a  spinout company from the APC Microbiome Institute and UCC, has made in the last few years and the key learnings for  inventor teams planning the journey.

The other winners on the night were:

UCC’s ICT award went to the team of Fabrizio Fortino, Jasurbek Khodjaev, Salvatore Tedesco, Brendan O’Flynn from the Tyndall Wireless sensor network group for “Kneehabilitation – Low-cost measurement unit for physiotherapy “.

UCCs Life Sciences awards went to Tom Moore & Emer O’Shea from the School of Biochemistry and Cell Biology for their invention for “The use of Pregnancy-Specific Glycoprotein (PSG) in developing treatment targeting autoimmune diseases”.

CIT’s Nimbus Centre team of Conor Lynch, Jane O’Flynn, Kevin Fitzgibbon, Gary Smith, Bartlomiej Gnyszka, Jacqueline Kehoe and Ramon Almestre won the CIT Engineering, ICT & Physical sciences award for “WatNOS: a Water Network Energy Optimisation System Implementation”.

CIT’s Life Science award went to Roy Sleator, a Funded Investigator at APC Microbiome Institute, and Eamon Culligan for their work on “betL* a modified genetic locus that promotes improved bacterial stress resistance”.


Pictured (left to right) are: Dr Sharon Sheahan, Commercialisation Case Manager, Teagasc; Prof Anita Maguire, Vice President for Research & Innovation, UCC; Mr Michael Lucey, Director, Purdy Lucey; Dr Mary Rea, APC Microbiome Institute, Teagasc; Dr Debebe Alemayu, Teagasc and Dr Miriam Walsh, Head of Intellectual Property, Teagasc.