Brain-Gut-Microbe Axis

  • You are here:

Brain-Gut-Microbe Axis

This APC theme addresses the communication between the brain and gut and how it can be influenced by the gastrointestinal microbiota. This is an area of significance in infancy, where important links between diet, microbes and cognition are established. The influence of the microbiota on obesity and metabolic syndrome are also increasingly recognised. The APC Microbiome Institute has made significant contributions in this area, which represents a real opportunity for foods designed for cognition, infant brain development, functional gastrointestinal disorders and for healthy ageing, which are significant growth areas for healthcare and food companies. Microorganisms, or microbial components, have a role in either causing or preventing these conditions. A better understanding of the role of this axis in the stress response, and its links with other debilitating conditions, such as anxiety, stress, depression, autism spectrum disorders, obesity and IBS will provide new treatment and management strategies. These will represent opportunities for both the food ingredients business and the pharmaceutical industry.

Outputs from this theme will include new food ingredients or biotherapeutics which are designed to influence the microbiota in order to improve various aspects of mental health

Gerard Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Psychiatry
Email: g.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901415/1408
John Cryan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: j.cryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205426
Ted Dinan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Psychiatry
Email: t.dinan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901220
Niall Hyland
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Pharmacology
Email: n.hyland@ucc.ie
Phone: 4905970/5947
siobhan o'mahony Siobhain O’Mahony
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: somahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901712/2028
Dervla O’Malley
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Physiology
Email: d.omalley@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205483
Yvonne Nolan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy and Neuroscience
Email: y.nolan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205476
Ivan Perry Cora O’Neill
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Biochemistry & Cell Biology, UCC
Email:c.oneill@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901380/4901361
Harriët Schellekens
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience, UCC
Email: h.schellekens@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205429