Host–Microbe Dialogue

  • You are here:

Host–Microbe Dialogue

The APC’s Host-Microbe Dialogue theme explores the network of signalling interactions among the microbiota, host immune-inflammatory responses and metabolism and the impact of diet on each component of this triad. The gut microbiota influences human health and susceptibility to most common diseases, including immune-allergic, colon cancer and various metabolic diseases, such as obesity-related disorders, diabetes and cardiovascular disease. Each of these chronic disorders has an immune or inflammatory component, and indeed, the aging process itself, is associated with increases in low-grade inflammation (inflammageing). This low-grade inflammation, and the diseases associated with it, is a significant healthcare burden in developed countries, and represents a multi-billion € opportunity for companies in the food, pharmaceutical and diagnostic sectors.

The APC has built a global reputation in inflammatory diseases, particularly in functional gastrointestinal conditions, inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) and in inflammation of the aged. The challenge now is to develop outputs, such as new robust microbial and other biomarkers of disease risk and to manipulate disease risk by targeting the microbiota using designer foods and/or pharmabiotics. This is a strategically important area both in the context of the ageing population and evolving economic and public health policies.

martin buckley Beth Brint
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Pathology
Email: e.brint@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205045
Noel Caplice
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine, Centre Vascular Biology / CUH
Email: n.caplice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901329
Marcus Claesson
Title: Dr.
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: m.claesson@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901390
David Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: David.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903624
Cormac Gahan
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: c.gahan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901363
Liam Fanning
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Medicine
Email: l.fanning@ucc.ie
Phone:
Aileen Houston
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: a.houston@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901265
susan joyce Susan Joyce
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Email: s.joyce@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901723/1343
John MacSharry
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: j.macsharry@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902642
Silvia Melgar
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: APC
Email: s.melgar@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901384
Ken Nally
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Biochemistry
Email: k.nally@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901302
Mark Tangney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork Cancer Research Centre
Email: m.tangney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901372
Mike Prentice
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology & CUH
Email: m.prentice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901420