APC Faculty

The APC currently has 80 Faculty members, including 15 Principal Investigators and 13 Funded Investigators, each of whom is well recognised in their field of research. Many faculty members are involved in multiple APC research themes.

Principal Investigators

​​​

Fergus Shanahan
Title: Professor
Position: Director
Department: Medicine
Email: f.shanahan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901226
Paul Ross
Title: Professor
Position: Deputy Director
Department: Microbiology & College of SEFS, UCC
Email: p.ross@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903760/3075
  Elke Arendt
Title: Prof.
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Food & Nutritional Sciences
Email: e.arendt@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902064/2393
Noel Caplice
Title: Prof
Position: Principal Investigator
Department:  Medicine, Centre Vascular Biology / CUH
Email: n.caplice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901329
Marcus Claesson
Title: Dr.
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: m.claesson@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901390
  Paul Cotter
Title: Dr
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Paul.cotter@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42694
John Cryan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: j.cryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205426
Ted Dinan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Psychiatry
Email: t.dinan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901220
Gerald Fitzgerald
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: g.fitzgerald@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902730
Cormac Gahan
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: c.gahan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901363
  Colin Hill
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: c.hill@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901373
Ken Nally
Title: Dr
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Biochemistry
Email: k.nally@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901302
Paul O’Toole
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: – Microbiology
Email: pwotoole@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903997
Catherine Stanton
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Catherine.stanton@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42606
Douwe VanSinderen
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: d.vansinderen@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901365

Funded Investigators

David Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: David.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903624
Gerard Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Psychiatry
Email: g.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901415/1408
Eugene Dempsey
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: g.dempsey@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920525
susan joyce Susan Joyce
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: School of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Email: s.joyce@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901723/1343
Michael Maher
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Radiology
Email: m.maher@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920291
fionnuala-mcauliffe Fionnuala McAuliffe
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Email: fionnuala.mcauliffe@ucd.ie
Phone:
Liam O’Mahony
Title: Professor of Immunology
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Medicine & Microbiology, UCC
Email: liam.omahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4901316
Orla O’Sullivan
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Teagasc Food Research Centre, Moorepark
Email:  orla.osullivan@teagasc.ie
Phone: 025 42222
Mary Rea
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Mary.rea@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42602
Tony Ryan
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: Tony.ryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920525
   Pauline Scanlan
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: APC
Email: P.scanlan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901335
Harriët Schellekens
Title: Dr
Position: Funded investigator
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience, UCC
Email: h.schellekens@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205429
Roy Sleator
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: CIT
Email: Roy.sleator@cit.ie
Phone: 4335405

APC Associated Faculty

​​​

Maire Begley
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Maire.begley@cit.ie
Phone:
Geraldine Boylan
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: g.boylan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901519
martin buckley Beth Brint
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Pathology
Email: e.brint@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205045
Martin Buckley Martin Buckley
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Mercy University Hospital
Email: mabuckley@muh.ie
Phone: 4935267
Aidan Coffey
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Aidan.coffey@cit.ie
Phone: 4335486
Jakki Cooney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UL
Email: Jakki.cooney@ul.ie
Phone:
Sinéad Corr
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology, The Moyne Institute of Preventive Medicine, Trinity College Dublin
Email: CORRSC@tcd.ie
Phone: +353 1 8961195
Joe Eustace
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: HRB Clinical Research Facility CUH
Email: j.eustace@ucc.ie
Phone: 493 5150
Dr. Liam Fanning Liam Fanning
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Dept. Medicine
Email: l.fanning@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901281
Mark Fenelon
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Teagasc
Email: Mark.fenelon@teagasc.ie
Phone: + 353 25 42355
Albert Flynn
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food/Nutritional Science
Email: a.flynn@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901318
Brendan Griffin
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Pharmacy
Email: brendan.griffin@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901657
Rita Hickey
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food Bioscience, Moorepark, Teagasc
Email: rita.hickey@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42227
Mary Horgan
Title: Prof
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: m.horgan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901585
Aileen Houston
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: a.houston@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901265
Niall Hyland
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Physiology
Email: n.hyland@ucc.ie
Phone: 490876
Lokesh Joshi
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: AGRC, NUI Galway
Email: Lokesh.joshi@nuigalway.ie
Phone:
Patricia Kearney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology & Public Health, UCC
Email: patricia.kearney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205513
David Kerins
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine & MUH
Email: d.kerins@ucc.ie
Phone: 4935086
Ali Khashan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology and Public Health
Email: a.khashan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205565
John MacSharry
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: j.macsharry@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902642
Gerard McGlacken
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Chemistry
Email: g.mcglacken@ucc.ie
Phone:
Silvia Melgar
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: APC
Email: s.melgar@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901384
Michael Molloy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: mgmmolloy@eircom.net
Phone: 4922000
William Molloy
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UCC& St Finbarr’s Hospital
Email: w.molloy@ucc.ie
Phone:
morrissey_john John Morrissey
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Microbiology
Email: j.morrissey@ucc.ie
Phone: -021 4902396
Brendan Murphy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CUMH
Email: brendanpaul.murphy@hse.ie
Phone:
yvonne-nolan1 Yvonne Nolan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience
Email: y.nolan@ucc.ie
Phone: -4205476
Mary O'Connell Motherway Mary O’Connell-Motherway
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: APC
Email: m.oconnellmotherway@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901366
Eibhlis_oconnor Eibhlis O’Connor
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UL
Email: Eibhlis.oconnor@ul.ie
Phone:
Ailing O'Driscoll Aisling O’Driscoll
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Aisling.ODriscoll@cit.ie
Phone:
Caitriona O'Driscoll Caitriona O’Driscoll
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Pharmacy
Email: Caitriona.ODriscoll@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901396
Eileen_oherlihy_jpg Eileen O’Herlihy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: 4D Pharma Cork Ltd
Email:eoh@4dpharmaplc.com
Phone: +353 21 4903092
Gerard O’Keeffe
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: g.okeeffe@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205497
Olivia O’Leary
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: o.oleary@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205480
Paula O’Leary
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: Paula.oleary@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901224
Jimo'Mahony Jim O’Mahony
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork Institute of Technology
Email: Jim.omahony@cit.ie
Phone: 4335485
Seamus O’Mahony
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: seamus.omahony@hse.ie
Phone:
Dr Seamus Anthony O'Mahony Seamus Anthony O’Mahony
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food & Nutritional Science
Email: sa.omahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4903625
siobhan o'mahony Siobhain O’Mahony
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: somahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205479
Dervla O’Malley
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Physiology
Email: d.omalley@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205483
Ivan Perry Cora O’Neill
Title: Prof
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Biochemistry & Cell Biology, UCC
Email:c.oneill@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901380/4901361
Dr. Barry O'Reilly Barry O’Reilly
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Email: B.OReilly@ucc.ie 
Phone: 021 4205021
MichaelORiordan Michéal Ó Ríordáin
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Mercy University Hospital
Email:micheal.oriordain@ucc.ie
Phone: 4935336
Ivan Perry Ivan Perry
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology & Public Health, UCC
Email: i.perry@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205500
Barry Plant
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: Barry.plant@hse.ie
Phone: 4920169
Mike Prentice
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology & CUH
Email: m.prentice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901420
Eamonn Quigley
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Methodist Hospital Houston
Email: equigley@houstonmethodist.org
Phone:
pauline-m-rudd Pauline M. Rudd
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Email: pauline.rudd@nibrt.ie
Phone:
Syed Zulquernain Aoife Ryan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food&Nutritional Science
Email: a.ryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902406
Mark Tangney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork Cancer Research Centre
Email: m.tangney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901372
Syed Zulquernain Suzanne Timmons
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Centre for Gerontology & Rehabilitation
Email: s.timmons@ucc.ie
Phone: 4923615
Aideen Sullivan Aideen Sullivan
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy and Neuroscience, UCC
Email: a.sullivan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205427
Syed Zulquernain Syed Akbar Zulquernain
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: syed.zulquernain@hse.ie
Phone: