APC Faculty

The APC currently has 73 Faculty members, including 9 Principal Investigators and 9 Funded Investigators, each of whom is well recognised in their field of research. Many faculty members are involved in multiple APC research themes.

Principal Investigators

Fergus Shanahan
Title: Professor
Position: Director
Department: Medicine
Email: f.shanahan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901226
Paul Ross
Title: Professor
Position: Deputy Director
Department: Microbiology & College of SEFS, UCC
Email: p.ross@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903760/3075
John Cryan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: j.cryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205426
Ted Dinan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Psychiatry
Email: t.dinan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901220
Gerald Fitzgerald
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: g.fitzgerald@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902730
Colin Hill
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: c.hill@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901373
Paul O’Toole
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: – Microbiology
Email: pwotoole@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903997
Catherine Stanton
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Catherine.stanton@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42606
Douwe VanSinderen
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: d.vansinderen@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901365

Funded Investigators

Marcus Claesson
Title: Dr.
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: m.claesson@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901390
David Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: David.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903624
PaulCotter2015

 

Paul Cotter
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Paul.cotter@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42694
Cormac Gahan
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: c.gahan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901363
Michael Maher
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Radiology
Email: m.maher@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920291
Ken Nally
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Biochemistry
Email: k.nally@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901302
Mary Rea
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Mary.rea@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42602
Tony Ryan
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: Tony.ryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920525
Roy Sleator
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: CIT
Email: Roy.sleator@cit.ie
Phone: 4335405

APC Associated Faculty

Maire Begley
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Maire.begley@cit.ie
Phone:
Geraldine Boylan
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: g.boylan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901519
martin buckley Beth Brint
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Pathology
Email: e.brint@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205045
Martin Buckley Martin Buckley
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Mercy University Hospital
Email: mabuckley@muh.ie
Phone: 4935267
Noel Caplice
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine, Centre Vascular Biology / CUH
Email: n.caplice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901329
Gerard Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Psychiatry
Email: g.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901415/1408
Aidan Coffey
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Aidan.coffey@cit.ie
Phone: 4335486
Jakki Cooney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UL
Email: Jakki.cooney@ul.ie
Phone:
Sinéad Corr
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology, The Moyne Institute of Preventive Medicine, Trinity College Dublin
Email: CORRSC@tcd.ie
Phone: +353 1 8961195
Eugene Dempsey
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: g.dempsey@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920525
Joe Eustace
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: HRB Clinical Research Facility CUH
Email: j.eustace@ucc.ie
Phone: 493 5150
Dr. Liam Fanning Liam Fanning
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Dept. Medicine
Email: l.fanning@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901281
Mark Fenelon
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Teagasc
Email: Mark.fenelon@teagasc.ie
Phone: + 353 25 42355
Albert Flynn
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food/Nutritional Science
Email: a.flynn@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901318
Brendan Griffin
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Pharmacy
Email: brendan.griffin@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901657
Rita Hickey
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food Bioscience, Moorepark, Teagasc
Email: rita.hickey@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42227
Aileen Houston
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: a.houston@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901265
Niall Hyland
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Pharmacology
Email: n.hyland@ucc.ie
Phone: 4905970/5947
Lokesh Joshi
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: AGRC, NUI Galway
Email: Lokesh.joshi@nuigalway.ie
Phone:
susan joyce Susan Joyce
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Email: s.joyce@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901723/1343
Patricia Kearney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology & Public Health, UCC
Email: patricia.kearney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205513
David Kerins
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine & MUH
Email: d.kerins@ucc.ie
Phone: 4935086
Ali Khashan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology and Public Health
Email: a.khashan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205565
John MacSharry
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: j.macsharry@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902642
fionnuala-mcauliffe Fionnuala McAuliffe
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Email: fionnuala.mcauliffe@ucd.ie
Phone:
Silvia Melgar
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: APC
Email: s.melgar@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901384
Michael Molloy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: mgmmolloy@eircom.net
Phone: 4922000
William Molloy
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UCC& St Finbarr’s Hospital
Email: w.molloy@ucc.ie
Phone:
morrissey_john John Morrissey
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Microbiology
Email: j.morrissey@ucc.ie
Phone: -021 4902396
Brendan Murphy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CUMH
Email: brendanpaul.murphy@hse.ie
Phone:
yvonne-nolan1 Yvonne Nolan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience
Email: y.nolan@ucc.ie
Phone: -4205476
Mary O'Connell Motherway Mary O’Connell-Motherway
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: APC
Email: m.oconnellmotherway@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901366
Eibhlis_oconnor Eibhlis O’Connor
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UL
Email: Eibhlis.oconnor@ul.ie
Phone:
Ailing O'Driscoll Aisling O’Driscoll
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Aisling.ODriscoll@cit.ie
Phone:
Caitriona O'Driscoll Caitriona O’Driscoll
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Pharmacy
Email: Caitriona.ODriscoll@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901396
Eileen_oherlihy_jpg Eileen O’Herlihy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: 4D Pharma Cork Ltd
Email:eoh@4dpharmaplc.com
Phone: +353 21 4903092
Gerard O’Keeffe
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: g.okeeffe@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205497
Olivia O’Leary
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: o.oleary@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205480
Paula O’Leary
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: Paula.oleary@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901224
Jimo'Mahony Jim O’Mahony
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork Institute of Technology
Email: Jim.omahony@cit.ie
Phone: 4335485
Seamus O’Mahony
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: seamus.omahony@hse.ie
Phone:
Dr Seamus Anthony O'Mahony Seamus Anthony O’Mahony
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food & Nutritional Science
Email: sa.omahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4903625
siobhan o'mahony Siobhain O’Mahony
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: somahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901712/2028
Dervla O’Malley
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Physiology
Email: d.omalley@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205483
Ivan Perry Cora O’Neill
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Biochemistry & Cell Biology, UCC
Email:c.oneill@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901380/4901361
Dr. Barry O'Reilly Barry O’Reilly
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Email: B.OReilly@ucc.ie 
Phone: 021 4205021
MichaelORiordan Michéal Ó Ríordáin
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Mercy University Hospital
Email:micheal.oriordain@ucc.ie
Phone: 4935336
Orla O’Sullivan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Teagasc Food Research Centre, Moorepark
Email:orla.osullivan@teagasc.ie
Phone: 025 42222
Ivan Perry Ivan Perry
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology & Public Health, UCC
Email: i.perry@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205500
Barry Plant
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: Barry.plant@hse.ie
Phone: 4920169
Mike Prentice
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology & CUH
Email: m.prentice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901420
Eamonn Quigley
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Methodist Hospital Houston
Email: equigley@houstonmethodist.org
Phone:
pauline-m-rudd Pauline M. Rudd
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Email: pauline.rudd@nibrt.ie
Phone:
Syed Zulquernain Aoife Ryan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food&Nutritional Science
Email: a.ryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902406
PaulineScanlan Pauline Scanlan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: APC
Email: P.scanlan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901335
Harriët Schellekens
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience, UCC
Email: h.schellekens@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205429
Mark Tangney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork Cancer Research Centre
Email: m.tangney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901372
Syed Zulquernain Suzanne Timmons
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Centre for Gerontology & Rehabilitation
Email: s.timmons@ucc.ie
Phone: 4923615
Aideen Sullivan Aideen Sullivan
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy and Neuroscience, UCC
Email: a.sullivan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205427
Syed Zulquernain Syed Akbar Zulquernain
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: syed.zulquernain@hse.ie
Phone: