APC Faculty

The APC currently has 86 Faculty members, including 16 Principal Investigators and 24 Funded Investigators, each of whom is well recognised in their field of research. Many faculty members are involved in multiple APC research themes.

Principal Investigators

​​

Paul Ross
Title: Professor
Position: APC Director
Department: Microbiology
Email: p.ross@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901322
Elke Arendt
Title: Prof.
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Food & Nutritional Sciences
Email: e.arendt@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902064/2393
Noel Caplice
Title: Prof
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Medicine, Centre Vascular Biology / CUH
Email: n.caplice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901329
Marcus Claesson
Title: Dr.
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: m.claesson@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901390
Paul Cotter
Title: Dr
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Paul.cotter@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42694
John Cryan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: j.cryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205426
Ted Dinan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Psychiatry
Email: t.dinan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901220
Gerald Fitzgerald
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: g.fitzgerald@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902730
Cormac Gahan
Title: Dr
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: c.gahan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901363
Colin Hill
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: c.hill@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901373
Ken Nally
Title: Dr
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Biochemistry
Email: k.nally@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901302
Paul O’Toole
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: – Microbiology
Email: pwotoole@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903997
Fergus Shanahan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Medicine
Email: f.shanahan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901226
Catherine Stanton
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Catherine.stanton@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42606
Ines Thiele
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: NUI Galway
Email: ines.thiele@nuigalway.ie
Phone: +353 91 49 5201
Douwe VanSinderen
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: d.vansinderen@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901365

Funded Investigators

martin buckleyBeth Brint
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Pathology
Email: e.brint@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205045
David Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: David.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903624
Gerard Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Psychiatry
Email: g.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901415/1408
Aidan Coffey
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Aidan.coffey@cit.ie
Phone: 4335486
Eugene Dempsey
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: g.dempsey@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920525
Dr. Liam FanningLiam Fanning
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Dept. Medicine
Email: l.fanning@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901281
Brendan Griffin
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Pharmacy
Email: brendan.griffin@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901657
Aileen Houston
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: a.houston@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901265
Niall Hyland
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Physiology
Email: n.hyland@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205876
susan joyceSusan Joyce
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: School of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Email: s.joyce@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901723/1343
John MacSharry
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: j.macsharry@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902642
Michael Maher
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Radiology
Email: m.maher@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920291
fionnuala-mcauliffeFionnuala McAuliffe
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Email: fionnuala.mcauliffe@ucd.ie
Phone:
yvonne-nolan1Yvonne Nolan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience
Email: y.nolan@ucc.ie
Phone: -4205476
Olivia O’Leary
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: o.oleary@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205480
siobhan o'mahonySiobhain O’Mahony
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: somahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205479
Dr Seamus Anthony O'MahonySeamus Anthony O’Mahony
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food & Nutritional Science
Email: sa.omahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4903625
Dervla O’Malley
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Physiology
Email: d.omalley@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205483
Ivan PerryCora O’Neill
Title: Prof
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Biochemistry & Cell Biology, UCC
Email:c.oneill@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901380/4901361
Orla O’Sullivan
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Teagasc Food Research Centre, Moorepark
Email: orla.osullivan@teagasc.ie
Phone: 025 42222
Barry Plant
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: Barry.plant@hse.ie
Phone: 4920169
Mike Prentice
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology & CUH
Email: m.prentice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901420
Pauline Scanlan
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: APC
Email: P.scanlan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901335
Harriët Schellekens
Title: Dr
Position: Funded investigator
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience, UCC
Email: h.schellekens@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205429
Mark Tangney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork Cancer Research Centre
Email: m.tangney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901372

APC Associated Faculty

​​​​​

Maire Begley
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Maire.begley@cit.ie
Phone:
Geraldine Boylan
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: g.boylan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901519
Martin Buckley Martin Buckley
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Mercy University Hospital
Email: mabuckley@muh.ie
Phone: 4935267
Roisin Connolly
Title: Prof
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: roisin.connolly@ucc.ie
Phone: +353 21 420 5708
Jakki Cooney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UL
Email: Jakki.cooney@ul.ie
Phone:
Sinéad Corr
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology, The Moyne Institute of Preventive Medicine, Trinity College Dublin
Email: CORRSC@tcd.ie
Phone: +353 1 8961195
Joe Eustace
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: HRB Clinical Research Facility CUH
Email: j.eustace@ucc.ie
Phone: 493 5150
Mark Fenelon
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Teagasc
Email: Mark.fenelon@teagasc.ie
Phone: + 353 25 42355
Albert Flynn
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food/Nutritional Science
Email: a.flynn@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901318
Rita Hickey
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food Bioscience, Moorepark, Teagasc
Email: rita.hickey@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42227
Mary Horgan
Title: Prof
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: m.horgan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901585
Lokesh Joshi
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: AGRC, NUI Galway
Email: Lokesh.joshi@nuigalway.ie
Phone:
Patricia Kearney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology & Public Health, UCC
Email: patricia.kearney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205513
John Kenny
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Teagasc
Email: john.kenny@teagasc.ie
Phone: 025 42283
David Kerins
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine & MUH
Email: d.kerins@ucc.ie
Phone: 4935086
Ali Khashan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology and Public Health
Email: a.khashan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205565
Cian McCafferty
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology
Email: cian.mccafferty@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205599
Brian McSharry
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology
Email: brian.mcsharry@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4902642
Gerard McGlacken
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Chemistry
Email: g.mcglacken@ucc.ie
Phone:
Silvia Melgar
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: APC
Email: s.melgar@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901384
Michael Molloy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: mgmmolloy@eircom.net
Phone: 4922000
William Molloy
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UCC& St Finbarr’s Hospital
Email: w.molloy@ucc.ie
Phone:
morrissey_johnJohn Morrissey
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Microbiology
Email: j.morrissey@ucc.ie
Phone: -021 4902396
Brendan Murphy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CUMH
Email: brendanpaul.murphy@hse.ie
Phone:
Mary O'Connell MotherwayMary O’Connell-Motherway
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: APC
Email: m.oconnellmotherway@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901366
Eibhlis_oconnor Eibhlis O’Connor
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UL
Email: Eibhlis.oconnor@ul.ie
Phone:
Ailing O'DriscollAisling O’Driscoll
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Aisling.ODriscoll@cit.ie
Phone:
Caitriona O'DriscollCaitriona O’Driscoll
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Pharmacy
Email: Caitriona.ODriscoll@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901396
Eileen_oherlihy_jpgEileen O’Herlihy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: 4D Pharma Cork Ltd
Email:eoh@4dpharmaplc.com
Phone: +353 21 4903092
Gerard O’Keeffe
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: g.okeeffe@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205497
Paula O’Leary
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: Paula.oleary@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901224
Jimo'MahonyJim O’Mahony
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork Institute of Technology
Email: Jim.omahony@cit.ie
Phone: 4335485
Liam O’Mahony
Title: Professor of Immunology
Position: Investigator
Department: Medicine & Microbiology, UCC
Email: liam.omahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4901316
Seamus O’Mahony
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: seamus.omahony@hse.ie
Phone:
Dr. Barry O'ReillyBarry O’Reilly
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Email: B.OReilly@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4205021
MichaelORiordanMichéal Ó Ríordáin
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Mercy University Hospital
Email:micheal.oriordain@ucc.ie
Phone: 4935336
Ivan PerryIvan Perry
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology & Public Health, UCC
Email: i.perry@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205500
Roy Sleator
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: CIT
Email: Roy.sleator@cit.ie
Phone: 4335405
Eamonn Quigley
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Methodist Hospital Houston
Email: equigley@houstonmethodist.org
Phone:
Mary Rea
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Mary.rea@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42602
pauline-m-ruddPauline M. Rudd
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Email: pauline.rudd@nibrt.ie
Phone:
Tony Ryan
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: Tony.ryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920525
Syed ZulquernainSuzanne Timmons
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Centre for Gerontology & Rehabilitation
Email: s.timmons@ucc.ie
Phone: 4923615
Aideen SullivanAideen Sullivan
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy and Neuroscience, UCC
Email: a.sullivan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205427
Jens Walter
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department:  School of Microbiology, UCC
Email: jenswalter@ucc.ie
Phone:  4901773
Syed ZulquernainSyed Akbar Zulquernain
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: syed.zulquernain@hse.ie
Phone: