• You are here:


Recent Awards


John Cryan was awarded the Elsevier Distinguished Lecturer Prize for his lecture “Microbiota-Gut Brain-Axis:From Neurodevelopment to Behaviour” at the annual meeting of the Neurobehavioral Teratology Society (NBTS) in Montreal, Canada

Conor Feehily received the NUIG Anthony Moran Award

Olivia O’Leary  was honoured with the 2015 Outstanding Junior Faculty Award from the International and Neural Genetics Society (IBANGS).

Ruairi Robertson has been awarded a Fulbright Award to undertake further postgraduate research at Harvard University for 9 months under the supervision of Professor Jing X Kang investigating the role of omega-3 fatty acids on the gut microbiota.

Fergus Shanahan was awarded an honorary Doctor of Science at University College Dublin

Photos (clockwise from top left) Prof. Desmond Fitzgerald, UCD Vice-President for Health Affairs, Prof. Fergus Shanahan, Director APC Microbiome Institute, Prof. Andrew J. Deeks, UCD President; Dr Olivia O’Leary; Ruairi Robertson,  Lance O’Brien  Teagasc, and fellow 2015-2016 Fulbright-Teagasc Student Awardee, Mary Carey ;  Prof. John F. Cryan-Elsevier Distinguished Lecturer, Jagna Mirska-Gent – Senior Publisher Toxicology, Elsevier; Lori Driscoll- President NBTS; Dr Marguerite Clyne, Conway Institute, UCD (Guest Speaker); Prof Jim O’Gara, Microbiology, NUI Galway (Head of Department); Dr Conor Feehily, APC Microbiome Institute; Mari Moran (Wife of late Prof Anthony Moran).