APC Faculty

The APC currently has 86 Faculty members, including 24 Principal Investigators and 32 Funded Investigators, each of whom is well recognised in their field of research. Many faculty members are involved in multiple APC research themes.

Principal Investigators

Paul Ross
Title: Professor
Position: APC Director
Department: Microbiology
Email: p.ross@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901322
Elke Arendt
Title: Prof.
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Food & Nutritional Sciences
Email: e.arendt@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902064/2393
Noel Caplice
Title: Prof
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Medicine, Centre Vascular Biology / CUH
Email: n.caplice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901329
Marcus Claesson
Title: Dr.
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: m.claesson@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901390
Gerard Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Psychiatry
Email: g.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901415/1408
Paul Cotter
Title: Prof
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Paul.cotter@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42694
John Cryan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: j.cryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205426
Ted Dinan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Psychiatry
Email: t.dinan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901220
Gerald Fitzgerald
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: g.fitzgerald@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902730
Cormac Gahan
Title: Dr
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: c.gahan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901363
Subrata Ghosh
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: SubrataGhosh@ucc.ie
Phone:
Colin Hill
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: c.hill@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901373
Jennifer Mahony
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: j.mahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902730
Ruth Massey
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: r.massey@ucc.ie
Phone:
Ken Nally
Title: Dr
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Biochemistry
Email: k.nally@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901302
Liam O’Mahony
Title: Professor of Immunology
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Medicine & Microbiology, UCC
Email: liam.omahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4901316
Orla O’Sullivan
Title: Dr
Position: Principle Investigator
Department: Teagasc Food Research Centre, Moorepark
Email: orla.osullivan@teagasc.ie
Phone: 025 42222
Paul O’Toole
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: – Microbiology
Email: pwotoole@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903997
Fergus Shanahan
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Medicine
Email: f.shanahan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901226
Andrey Shkoporov
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Medicine
Email: andrey.shkoporov@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901771
Catherine Stanton
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Teagasc
Email: Catherine.stanton@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42606
Ines Thiele
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: NUI Galway
Email: ines.thiele@nuigalway.ie
Phone: +353 91 49 5201
Douwe VanSinderen
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: d.vansinderen@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901365
Jens Walter
Title: Professor
Position: Principal Investigator
Department:  School of Microbiology, UCC
Email: jenswalter@ucc.ie
Phone:  4901773

Funded Investigators

​​

Beth Brint
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Pathology
Email: e.brint@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205045
David Clarke
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: David.clarke@ucc.ie
Phone: 4903624
Aidan Coffey
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: CIT
Email: Aidan.coffey@cit.ie
Phone: 4335486
Sinéad Corr
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology, The Moyne Institute of Preventive Medicine, Trinity College Dublin
Email: CORRSC@tcd.ie
Phone: +353 1 8961195
Eugene Dempsey
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: g.dempsey@ucc.ie
Phone: 4920525
Dr. Liam Fanning Liam Fanning
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Dept. Medicine
Email: l.fanning@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901281
Des Field
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: des.field@ucc.ie
Phone:
Brendan Griffin
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: School of Pharmacy
Email: brendan.griffin@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901657
Aileen Houston
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Medicine
Email: a.houston@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901265
Niall Hyland
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Physiology
Email: n.hyland@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205876
Susan Joyce
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: School of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Email: s.joyce@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901723/1343
John MacSharry
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Medicine
Email: j.macsharry@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902642
fionnuala-mcauliffe Fionnuala McAuliffe
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Email: fionnuala.mcauliffe@ucd.ie
Phone:
Cian McCafferty
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology
Email: cian.mccafferty@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205599
Silvia Melgar
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: APC
Email: s.melgar@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901384
Rachel Moloney
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Pharmacy
Email: rachelmoloney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901779
yvonne-nolan1 Yvonne Nolan
Title: Dr
Position:  Funded Investigator
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience
Email: y.nolan@ucc.ie
Phone: -4205476
Mary O'Connell Motherway Mary O’Connell-Motherway
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: APC
Email: m.oconnellmotherway@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901366
Eibhlis_oconnor Eibhlis O’Connor
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UL
Email: Eibhlis.oconnor@ul.ie
Phone:
Olivia O’Leary
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: o.oleary@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205480
siobhan o'mahony Siobhain O’Mahony
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: somahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205479
Dr Seamus Anthony O'Mahony Seamus Anthony O’Mahony
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Food & Nutritional Science
Email: sa.omahony@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4903625
Dervla O’Malley
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Physiology
Email: d.omalley@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205483
Ivan Perry Cora O’Neill
Title: Prof
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Biochemistry & Cell Biology, UCC
Email:c.oneill@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901380/4901361
Barry Plant
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: Barry.plant@hse.ie
Phone: 4920169
Mike Prentice
Title: Professor
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Microbiology & CUH
Email: m.prentice@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901420
Pauline Scanlan
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: APC
Email: P.scanlan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901335
Harriët Schellekens
Title: Dr
Position: Funded investigator
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience, UCC
Email: h.schellekens@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205429
Aideen Sullivan Aideen Sullivan
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy and Neuroscience, UCC
Email: a.sullivan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205427
Mark Tangney
Title: Dr
Position: Funded Investigator
Department: Cork Cancer Research Centre
Email: m.tangney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901372

APC Faculty

Maire Begley
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Maire.begley@cit.ie
Phone:
Geraldine Boylan
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Paediatrics/Child Health
Email: g.boylan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901519
Martin Buckley Martin Buckley
Title: Dr.
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Mercy University Hospital
Email: mabuckley@muh.ie
Phone: 4935267
Roisin Connolly
Title: Prof
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: roisin.connolly@ucc.ie
Phone: +353 21 420 5708
Jakki Cooney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UL
Email: Jakki.cooney@ul.ie
Phone:
Joe Eustace
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: HRB Clinical Research Facility CUH
Email: j.eustace@ucc.ie
Phone: 493 5150
Mark Fenelon
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Teagasc
Email: Mark.fenelon@teagasc.ie
Phone: + 353 25 42355
Albert Flynn
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food/Nutritional Science
Email: a.flynn@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901318
Rita Hickey
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food Bioscience, Moorepark, Teagasc
Email: rita.hickey@teagasc.ie
Phone: +353 25 42227
Mary Horgan
Title: Prof
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: m.horgan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901585
Patricia Kearney
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology & Public Health, UCC
Email: patricia.kearney@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205513
John Kenny
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Teagasc
Email: john.kenny@teagasc.ie
Phone: 025 42283
David Kerins
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine & MUH
Email: d.kerins@ucc.ie
Phone: 4935086
Ali Khashan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology and Public Health
Email: a.khashan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205565
Piotr Kowaliski
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Pharmacy
Email: piotr.kowalski@ucc.ie
Phone:
Aonghus Lavelle
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology
Email: aoghus.lavelle@ucc.ie
Phone:
Sean Manning
Title:
Position: APC Faculty
Department:
Email:
Phone:
Brian McSharry
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Microbiology
Email: brian.mcsharry@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4902642
Gerard McGlacken
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Chemistry
Email: g.mcglacken@ucc.ie
Phone:
Michael Molloy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: mgmmolloy@eircom.net
Phone: 4922000
William Molloy
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: UCC& St Finbarr’s Hospital
Email: w.molloy@ucc.ie
Phone:
morrissey_john John Morrissey
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Microbiology
Email: j.morrissey@ucc.ie
Phone: -021 4902396
Brendan Murphy
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CUMH
Email: brendanpaul.murphy@hse.ie
Phone:
Kanishka Nilaweera
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Teagasc
Email: Kanishka.Nilaweera@teagasc.ie
Phone: 02542674
Terry O’Connor
Position:
Department:
Email:
Phone:
Ailing O'Driscoll Aisling O’Driscoll
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: CIT
Email: Aisling.ODriscoll@cit.ie
Phone:
Caitriona O'Driscoll Caitriona O’Driscoll
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: School of Pharmacy
Email: Caitriona.ODriscoll@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901396
Eileen_oherlihy_jpg Maria Rodriguez Aburto
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy & Neuroscience
Email:maria.rodriguezaburto@ucc.ie
Phone: +353 21 4901712
Ken O’Halloran
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Physiology
Email: k.ohalloran@ucc.ie
Phone: 4905433
Gerard O’Keeffe
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Anatomy&Neuroscience
Email: g.okeeffe@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205497
Paula O’Leary
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Medicine
Email: Paula.oleary@ucc.ie
Phone: 4901224
Jimo'Mahony Jim O’Mahony
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork Institute of Technology
Email: Jim.omahony@cit.ie
Phone: 4335485
Seamus O’Mahony
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: seamus.omahony@hse.ie
Phone:
Barry O’Reilly
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Email: B.OReilly@ucc.ie
Phone: 021 4205021
MichaelORiordan Michéal Ó Ríordáin
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Mercy University Hospital
Email:micheal.oriordain@ucc.ie
Phone: 4935336
Ivan Perry Ivan Perry
Title: Professor
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Epidemiology & Public Health, UCC
Email: i.perry@ucc.ie
Phone: 4205500
Aoife Ryan Aoife Ryan
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Food & Nutritional Sciences
Email: a.ryan@ucc.ie
Phone: 4902406
Suzanne Timmons Suzanne Timmons
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Centre for Gerontology & Rehabilitation
Email: s.timmons@ucc.ie
Phone: 4923615
Syed Zulquernain Syed Akbar Zulquernain
Title: Dr
Position: APC Faculty
Department: Cork University Hospital
Email: syed.zulquernain@hse.ie
Phone: